1994 All Japan Superbike Championship

Technical regulations

1994 MFJ All Japan Superbike Regulations (complying with FIM International Superbike Regulations)

Motorcycles for Superbike correspond to motorcycles of current production, available to the public, which have been manufactured and sold for everyday road use. Motorcycles must be approved and homologated by the FIM for competition in FIM Superbike events. Manufacturers are required to produce a minimum number of a specific motorcycle in order for it to be homologated; a factory that produces more than 100,000 units per year must produce 1,000 for homologation, a factory producing at least 50,000 units per year must produce 500, and all other factories must produce 200. Only modifications specified within the approved homologation documents for each model are permitted. Number plate colours are white background with black numbers (RAL colour table values: 9005 black and 9010 white).

Changes to FIM International Regulations:
Number plates may have any background colour, though they must consist entirely of only one colour.
Number plates should have white or black number colours so that they may be easily distiguished from the background colour.
The fuel tank may be modified to a maximum capacity of 24 litres.
The fuel cap may be replaced with one quick filler cap and one additional air bleeding cap.

Engine capacities

401-750cc, four-stroke, 3 or 4-cylinder, minimum dry weight 165kg;
551-1000cc, four-stroke, 2-cylinder, minimum dry weight 145kg.

Changes to FIM International Regulations:
The minimum dry weight for 400-750cc machines is reduced from 165kg to 160kg.

Homologated machines

Bimota Tesi 1D; Ducati 750 SS; Ducati 851; Ducati 888; Ducati 916; Honda CBR600F; Honda RC30; Honda RC45; Honda VFR750F; Kawasaki ZXR750; Kawasaki ZZR600; Norton F1; Suzuki GSX-R750; Suzuki RF600; Yamaha FZ750; Yamaha FZR600; Yamaha OW01; Yamaha YZF750.

Championship rules

Rider eligibility

Only riders registered for the championship with the Motorcycle Federation of Japan (MFJ) and in possession of a Class A International licence issued by the MFJ or an FIM International Licence are eligible to compete. Additionally, riders must fulfil at least one of the following conditions:
1. Have held an International licence in 1994.
2. Have been promoted from an MFJ Domestic Grade A licence in 1994.
3. Have received special promotion from an MFJ Domestic Grade B licence in 1994.

Riders are automatically eligible for the championship if they scored points in the All Japan Championship in the previous year or are specifically approved by the MFJ Sports Committee.

Qualifying format

2 official qualifying sessions, each rider's fastest lap time from any of these sessions is taken as their qualification time. Riders may be split into two groups (A and B) if the number of entries exceeds a circuit's maximum competitor capacity. The maximum lap time required to qualify will be equal to 110% of the fastest time overall. All riders must complete a minimum of 1 timed lap in official qualifying sessions. Riders who do not receive a grid space but have set a qualifying time are added to a reserve list and may receive a grid space if another rider withdraws from the event before the race.

Race format

Either 1 race or 2 races considered as separate races for the purpose of awarding points. Riders who fail to finish the first race may start the second race. The starting grid for all races will be based on official qualification times. Riders must complete at least 75% of the total race distance in order to be classified and eligible for championship points, though they are not required to pass the chequered flag.

Points system

Riders Championship: 1st: 20; 2nd: 17; 3rd: 15; 4th: 13; 5th: 11; 6th: 10; 7th: 9; 8th: 8; 9th: 7; 10th: 6; 11th: 5; 12th: 4; 13th: 3; 14th: 2; 15th: 1.
For events with 2 races, half-points are awarded for each race. At the MFJ Grand Prix, an additional 3 points are awarded for each position.

The number of points-paying positions is dependent on the number of riders who participate in official qualifying. If there are 25 or more participants, points will be awarded to the top 15 finishers; the number of finishers awarded points decreases as follows with the number of participants: 24-22 riders: top 12 finishers, 21-20: top 10, 19-18: top 9, 17-16: top 8, 15-14: top 7, 13-12: top 6, 11-10: top 5, 9-8: top 4, 7-6: top 3, 5: top 2, 4 or fewer: no points awarded.

Prize fund

Payable in Japanese Yen. Specified by the organiser of each individual event.